On Referendum 74

“AN ACT Relating to providing equal protection for all families in Washington by creating equality in civil marriage and changing domestic partnership laws, while protecting religious freedom… BE IT ENACTED BY THE STATE OF WASHINGTON…” – Referendum 74

This is a time of new beginnings. Am I, as a Catholic, supposed to go along with my church in its every decision even though all evidence presented points to the best decision being a contradictory action? This is the age-old question of the faith. This is why Martin Luther protested against the church and caused centuries of bloody battles between the Catholic Church and the dozens of breakaway churches now known as “Protestant.” This is why Galileo was put under house arrest. This is why Ricardo Fontanna put on the star of David and sacrificed himself in Auswitz.

As we have seen from these numerous examples, however, the only way to go about making positive change within the institution of faith is to act accordingly. To rash of an action could be seen as heresy, not founded in reality. But any action taken that is not bold enough will never change anything, no matter how difficult it was for the individual. Faith is very much a team effort.

And Referendum 74 has been at the forefront of the fight between antiquated institutional religion and the concept of creative license and valid interpretation. Maybe it is high time the church got off its high horse and accepted everyone for who they were as individuals, rather than trying to follow in the metaphorical footsteps of Stalin and rid the world of its enemies. Catholicism has always been considered the leading doctrine on institutionalized religion and how it should be enacted, kind of like Apple is in the mobile phone world, and America is in the military world.

 

2 thoughts on “On Referendum 74

  1. Hello, Guy, I guess I’ve decided to comment on this post because this is an issue that has troubled me every time I have gone to church in the past few months, when homilies were devoted almost entirely to Referendum 74, urging Catholic Washingtonians to vote against it. With my personal morals clashing so much with my catechism, I’ve tried to encourage myself with the thought that the church is constantly evolving idealistically as the people do, and that I should stick with it no matter how much ideologies seem to clash.

    That was the relevant part of this comment. The other part is, hello, I don’t know if you remember me, but in ninth grade on the mountain I handed you an extended metaphor – a loquacious speech that I had written for my school’s diversity assembly.
    I think it’s funny how the Internet works, how easy it is to find people you were half looking for.
    Anyways, I hope you’re doing well.

  2. True faith in the Catholic religion only comes through the valid questioning of its precepts. People have always been imperfect creatures, its in their nature. And if you have a system that has been created by men in the tradition of honoring God, there is always room for error. Having doubts does not label you as a heretic and should most definitely not force you to be excommunicated. Having doubts more often reaffirms the decision to stay in the church then it does make an atheist of a certain individual.

    I might come off as a window washing liberal in this text but I am very much a loyal Catholic. I am a First Degree Knight, in the Knights of Columbus. This means I am sworn to protect my church in all of its glory no matter the weight of the cross that I have to bear or the sword that I need to carry. I was a lector in the military diocese, and I read the gospel in front of hundreds of soldiers from all blocks of life. I was an alter server as a young boy. Today, I maintain an active presence in the Newman Center for Catholic Campus ministry at university.

    BUT THAT STILL DOESN’T CHANGE THE FACT THAT I DISAGREE. In that sense I have come to a standstill with the liturgical processes and the diocesan materials that litter my “any given Sunday.” But I have not come to any such standstill with Jesus Christ, the Holy Spirit, God, or any of the saints. I am not going to shut my mouth, but neither am I going to stop being Catholic.

    “Men are sheep, and the lord is their Sheppard. Sheep can never hope to understand the Sheppard. This will always be the case.”

    ———-
    This is a memory I will not forget. I would wish that I have become wiser since the days of my youth – but in that sense I still don’t think I’ve changed that much; I still give many people pointers on their speeches. Only the profession of these people has changed with time to include politicians and scientists.

    One day I hope to meet you at the mountain again, so we can catch up on old times. Yes, this thing they call the internet is quite indeed a diamond in a field of thought.

Leave a Reply

